Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration

Here in the UK April has got off to a beautiful start, the sun has been shining most days and this weekend has been the best for sun by far. It’s been a while since I’ve woken up to bright sunshine at 8am, I love it. I even found out the old portable picnic table out of storage, popped it up, dusted it down and set up a place in the sunshine to work.

I am such a sun worshipper it makes me super happy and puts me in a positive mood but unfortunately I am also a blink at the sun and burn kinda person. I burn so quickly its a curse.

I thought I would share my favourite Sun Lotion that I have been using recently, not only does it do the stuff of a regular sun lotion, but it also has added extra’s and it smells like holiday in a bottle!

IMG_1105 (5)

The Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sun Lotion SPF 30 UVA*** & UVB Protection.

Unlike most other Sun Lotions The Silk Hydration has added Hydrating Ribbons for 12 Hour Moisturisation; these hydrating ribbons are enriched with Silk Proteins to nourish and moisturise the skin.

Sun protection & daily moisturiser in one?

I have found this to be a great addition to my morning skincare routine, it has a super thick and creamy texture which absorbs instantly leaving a matte finish to the skin, none of that sticky, oily residue found in other products. The best part of all is that this lotion smells amazing! It has a light, tropical scent, that takes you on a tropical holiday adventure every time you use it. No forgetting to apply the sun protection throughout the day, you’ll be keeping this in reaching distance it smells so good, and it’s also water resistant for up to 80 Minutes to keep you protected if you happen to go for a dip in the sea or outdoor swimming area.

IMG_1105 (4).jpg

At the end of a day in the beautiful sunshine I love to sit down and apply the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Aftersun Lotion. I love the smell of aftersun it’s definitely one of my favourite scents and this one also happens to smell of holiday thanks to it’s Coconut & Papaya Fragrance. Like it’s Sun Lotion Sibling the Silk Hydration Aftersun has added Hydrating Ribbons; these are enriched with Shea Butter & Aloe to soothe and moisturise the skin.

I love using both of these products, they are an absolute dream and smell delicious. Also the Sun Lotion is recommended by The Skin Cancer Foundation for it’s Broad Spectrum Protection!

Ever Wondered what UVA & UVB Rays are and what they do? What does SPF actually mean? What is Broad Spectrum Protection?

IMG_1104 (2)

**Warning Sciency Part – I never really understood SPF and UVA & UVB protection so I thought I would include this information in the post because I found it super interesting, and thought you may too**

UVA Rays penetrate the skins deepest layer which can lead to premature skin aging, wrinkling and suppression of the immune system. UVB Rays are what cause skin colouration ie burning or tanning, these rays only penetrate the top layers of the skin. The amount of UVA protection in a sun lotion is shown by a Star System, The Silk Hydration Sun Lotion is rated as a UVA ***(3 Star) Protection. The amount of UVB protection in a sun lotion is the SPF number, in this case the SPF is 30. Typically it takes 20 minutes for skin to ‘burn’ with no protection, adding an SPF means it takes 20 x that SPF number for skin to ‘burn’ (e.g. 20 x 30 = 600 = 10 hours).

 

Broad Spectrum Protection means you are protected from UVA & UVB Rays, and even though the SPF protects you from burning for a longer period of time, you should still be applying your sun protection regularly to keep your skin protected from the effects of UVA Rays.

Shop The Post:

Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sun Lotion £8.50, 180ml, SPF 30, UVA***

Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Aftersun Lotion £7.00, 180ml

**Boots Offer – Buy 1 Get 2nd Half Price on selected Suncare**

Leave a Reply

