Exploring Kinver Edge

The World Is A Book And Those Who Don’t Travel Read Only One Page

– Saint Augustine –

I’m pretty lucky to say I live in the Midlands, no matter which way I travel I will always find something new. However living in such a thriving area you do have to travel to find a somewhere quieter, with a slower pace of life.

One place I stumbled upon recently was Kinver Edge; on the borders of Staffordshire, Shropshire, Worcestershire and Warwickshire this scenic beauty spot is well known for it’s ‘Rock Houses’. Houses that had been built into the Red Sandstone Rocks that formed the Kinver Edge. Β I decided to jump in my car and drive the short 40 minute journey to see the ‘Rock Houses’ only to find they were closed that day, and the gates that gave you access to the houses were almost as long as those you find at the entrances to your favourite rides at the theme park.

IMG_20170704_175218IMG_20170705_204641IMG_20170705_205448

Instead I thought I would follow one of the paths and see where it would take me, and just how far up the rocks I could actually get. I don’t know how long I was walking but it didn’t feel that long at all until I popped out at the top of Kinver’s Edge, and the scenery was worth all those 50+ steps to get to the top. You could see for miles in every direction, and there was even a map indicate which direction other local landmarks were in and which county you were looking out over.

I was half expecting the area to be thriving with people along the trials, but I only saw a handful, even at the top of the Edge there were two couples and that was all. It was tranquil and a place to be at peace with yourself and the beautiful world we live in. A place for time to stop for a short while in our busy lives.

IMG_20170704_175656IMG_20170704_175845IMG_20170705_204503IMG_20170705_204538IMG_20170705_205046IMG_20170705_205320

 

4 thoughts on “Exploring Kinver Edge

Leave a Reply

